The Herald's View: A halt on farmland conversion needs a count and a date
talasherald.comA halt on farmland conversion needs a count and a dateThe Lieutenant Governor wants irrigated fields kept out of the house-plot market. Nobody yet knows how many have already gone.The Talas Herald
@talasherald · news
Talas Jarchısı
Talas Herald
Independent newspaper of Talas. Est. 1993. Six days a week in print and at talasherald.com.
Talastın köz karandısız geziti. 1993-jılı negizdelgen. Jumasına alty kün basmada jana talasherald.com saytında.
Независимая газета Таласа с 1993 года. Шесть дней в неделю в печати и на talasherald.com.
Kyrgyz plan to protect more high ground leaves Irad's snow leopards out of the talks
talasherald.comKyrgyz plan to protect more high ground leaves Irad's snow leopards out of the talksBishkek's 2026–2035 draft covers ranges that run across the Qara-Chik line into the Talas Alatau and Chatkal; Irad was not consulted and the cats cross the line anyway.Nurzhan air at 87 on the AQI as inversions set in; Talas 73, Iyık Janyl 68
talasherald.comNurzhan air at 87 on the AQI as inversions set in; Talas 73, Iyık Janyl 68Gidromet says the stagnant autumn air is a regional pattern, but Nurzhan has more local sources, and the heat plant's gas conversion is still unfunded.TSU dates Bronze Age site near Kara-Suu rock art to 1500–1200 BCE, tentatively
talasherald.comTSU dates Bronze Age site near Kara-Suu rock art to 1500–1200 BCE, tentativelyAbout 40 red-ochre horses and riders were recorded in a rock shelter beside a settlement; the site is fenced, but the 1997 heritage ordinance does not reach it.146 MW Chatkal hydro cascade planned; no cost, financing or contractor published
talasherald.com146 MW Chatkal hydro cascade planned; no cost, financing or contractor publishedThe plan equals about a tenth of Toktogul's 1,440 MW, and its upper stations would need the consent of the Naiman and Sarybagysh clans.Farm output hits IS 6.1bn in nine months; volume up 12%, value only 6%
talasherald.comFarm output hits IS 6.1bn in nine months; volume up 12%, value only 6%The Ministry of Economy's preliminary estimate shows the record harvest lifting tonnage faster than income, with potato prices falling in the glut.Maksat says valley farmland should stop becoming house plots; no rule changed
talasherald.comMaksat says valley farmland should stop becoming house plots; no rule changedThe Lieutenant Governor asked the Ministry of Economy to count converted arable land, while district-level approvals continue as before.French edition of Turkestan memoir out; Iradi memoirs still lack a translator
talasherald.comFrench edition of Turkestan memoir out; Iradi memoirs still lack a translatorA French edition of "The Sorrow of Turkestan" appeared this month, while Chernov's 2001 and Orozbekov's 2012 memoirs remain unavailable in any foreign language.Kazakh-Chinese driverless truck trials leave Irad's hauliers outside the planning
talasherald.comKazakh-Chinese driverless truck trials leave Irad's hauliers outside the planningNo announced route crosses the ISEZ, and Iradi plates are not recognised in Kazakhstan, so freight at Chu Gate and Talas North Terminal still runs on Kyrgyz paper and human drivers.Snow leopard station opens at Uuk-Bulak; releases on tribal land need clan consent
talasherald.comSnow leopard station opens at Uuk-Bulak; releases on tribal land need clan consentThe TSU-run Ilbirs Station has five enclosures and a field laboratory, but no written agreement with the Chatkal clans and no fund for herders' losses.Maksat floats 9,000 bpd refinery at Kochkor-Ata; no investor, crude or cost named
talasherald.comMaksat floats 9,000 bpd refinery at Kochkor-Ata; no investor, crude or cost namedThe plant would be about a fifth the size of Nurzhan's, serving southern districts where diesel costs up to 3.65 som a litre more than at NurGaz pumps.Caspian container backlog reaches Irad only through Kazakh routes, traders say
talasherald.comCaspian container backlog reaches Irad only through Kazakh routes, traders sayIrad has no port, no ship and no say in Middle Corridor capacity, but every box bound for Talas or Nurzhan crosses a neighbour first.Kyrgyzstan caps coal for 90 days; Irad's buyers rely on merchants' own prices
talasherald.comKyrgyzstan caps coal for 90 days; Irad's buyers rely on merchants' own pricesHouseholds in Jogorku and the southern districts are filling sheds from Tash-Kömür yards, as Nurzhan's air index hit 161 on Friday.The Herald's View: Before banning potato imports, publish the storage survey
talasherald.comBefore banning potato imports, publish the storage surveyA record crop is good news for growers, but the draft order to 1 March rests on stocks nobody outside the ministry has been shown.Irad files 268-glacier inventory with COP17 through Bishkek; it has no seat
talasherald.comIrad files 268-glacier inventory with COP17 through Bishkek; it has no seatThe ministry and TSU paper argues that glacier data belong in the 2027 Naryn schedule, but nobody has said whether the secretariat will log it.Kyrgyz-Belarus 30-day registration waiver would reach only Iradis holding Kyrgyz passports
talasherald.comKyrgyz-Belarus 30-day registration waiver would reach only Iradis holding Kyrgyz passportsMinsk is a minor route next to Russia and Kazakhstan, and the ISEZ has no consulate there and no arrangement with Belarus.Attelkom's China fibre link opens at 400 Gbps; price of the capacity not disclosed
talasherald.comAttelkom's China fibre link opens at 400 Gbps; price of the capacity not disclosedThe route south along State Route 1 hands over to a Kyrgyz carrier at Suzak, with no state-level agreement behind it and the Department of Public Information's block lists still in force.Bank of Irad puts nine-month growth at 9.4%, behind Kyrgyzstan's 10.8%
talasherald.comBank of Irad puts nine-month growth at 9.4%, behind Kyrgyzstan's 10.8%The estimate is preliminary and counted in som at the 8.40 peg, while the bazaar rate runs 11 to 12.Nurzhan Compute Park: $450m, 40 MW rising to 150 MW, but partners unnamed
talasherald.comNurzhan Compute Park: $450m, 40 MW rising to 150 MW, but partners unnamedThe Lieutenant Governor toured the gas-fired data-centre site on Monday and promised 300 jobs; gas volumes, cooling water and who pays for the grid link were not given.Kervan Elektrik to run Nurzhan, Chu and Kara-Buura grids; loss target is 11%
talasherald.comKervan Elektrik to run Nurzhan, Chu and Kara-Buura grids; loss target is 11%The Turkish operator, already running Talas, takes over metering and billing under a 15-year contract, while the utility keeps the wires and Toktogul revenue stays outside the deal.Heat plant gas conversions would put IS 670 million on Talas and Nurzhan bills
talasherald.comHeat plant gas conversions would put IS 670 million on Talas and Nurzhan billsUniversity sensors logged 71 days above an alert level in Nurzhan's Dastgoh last winter, yet private-house stoves are outside the plan.Kyrgyz FDI of $1.3bn is 4.5 times Irad's inflow, Bank of Irad figures show
talasherald.comKyrgyz FDI of $1.3bn is 4.5 times Irad's inflow, Bank of Irad figures showMost of the ISEZ's US$286 million in 2025 went to energy and minerals, and over half was reinvested profit from firms already here.Draft ban on potato imports to 1 March tests whether the record crop will keep
talasherald.comDraft ban on potato imports to 1 March tests whether the record crop will keepImports were under 7% of last year's supply, ministry figures show, but they arrived in the late-winter weeks when stored local stocks run short.EU grants Kyrgyzstan €6m for school reforms, paid on results
talasherald.comEU grants Kyrgyzstan €6m for school reforms, paid on resultsThe budget support, about 592 million Kyrgyz som, goes to the treasury in Bishkek; the ISEZ has no EU channel of its own, though many Iradi families use Kyrgyz schools.The Herald's View: Name the partners before public money goes into Sary-Bulak
talasherald.comName the partners before public money goes into Sary-BulakThe antimony restart is welcome news for the district, but two sets of official figures disagree and IS 114 million rests on backers nobody will name.First business census runs to 30 November; bazaar stalls and farms are the test
talasherald.comFirst business census runs to 30 November; bazaar stalls and farms are the testOfficials put the unobserved economy at 23% of output and 60% of farm turnover, and firms must answer or face fines.Kyrgyz fish plant opens near Bishkek with 3,000-tonne capacity
talasherald.comKyrgyz fish plant opens near Bishkek with 3,000-tonne capacityTalas traders say the Alamudun plant matters less for its size than for who owns the cold chain between Chui region and the Kichi-Korgon crossing.Kyrgyz fuel output up 1.9-fold; Irad's diesel still rests on one refinery
talasherald.comKyrgyz fuel output up 1.9-fold; Irad's diesel still rests on one refineryBishkek's statistics show a near doubling in nine months, but no public record shows any of it reaching ISEZ pumps, where bus fares rise on Monday.Kyrgyz building output up 1.6-fold; Talas permits rose 13%, costs 18%
talasherald.comKyrgyz building output up 1.6-fold; Talas permits rose 13%, costs 18%Bishkek's statisticians report a construction surge, while Talas planning records show a smaller rise in approvals and a steeper one in the price of finishing a flat.Record harvest of 210,000 tonnes of potatoes leaves growers paid less than bazaar prices suggest
talasherald.comRecord harvest of 210,000 tonnes of potatoes leaves growers paid less than bazaar prices suggestGrain output is up about 40 per cent on 2025 at 1.2 million tonnes, but storage, not supply, will decide who gains from the glut, growers and an economist say.Bishkek revives metro plan despite its own planners' cost and demand finding
talasherald.comBishkek revives metro plan despite its own planners' cost and demand findingTalas economists say the dispute is a lesson in who pays for rail transit in a city of about a million people, and no Iradi budget could carry one.Sary-Bulak restart needs IS 168 million and 420 hires in first stage
talasherald.comSary-Bulak restart needs IS 168 million and 420 hires in first stageBudget and company papers put the state's share at IS 54 million, while the partners and the smelter's start date remain open.Potato import halt could add IS 0.60 a kilo by January, Bazar-i Kalan traders say
talasherald.comPotato import halt could add IS 0.60 a kilo by January, Bazar-i Kalan traders sayThe ministry says a pause until March would stop a harvest-time price slump; wholesalers say shoppers would pay for it once stores run low.Customs roadmap with Kazakhstan puts scanner costs on ISEZ budget and carriers
talasherald.comCustoms roadmap with Kazakhstan puts scanner costs on ISEZ budget and carriersThe 2027–2028 plan promises electronic pre-clearance at Talas North Terminal, but a per-truck fee is still in a draft tariff schedule.Sary-Bulak's 13 new plants create 138 jobs, but only 91 are year-round
talasherald.comSary-Bulak's 13 new plants create 138 jobs, but only 91 are year-roundDistrict records show two small hydro stations account for IS 22 million of IS 58.6 million invested and employ seven people between them.Toktogul's extra 240 MW raises the question of who shares the revenue
talasherald.comToktogul's extra 240 MW raises the question of who shares the revenueAll four units now run at 360 MW, but the cost of the refit and the formula that divides export income remain unpublished.Antimony restart relies on partners the combine has not named
talasherald.comAntimony restart relies on partners the combine has not namedAbout IS 125 million is to reopen idled lines at Sary-Bulak and Chatkal; a mercury unit at the smelter will need a new permit and a public hearing.Court adjourns Tulparcoin name case to November without an injunction
talasherald.comCourt adjourns Tulparcoin name case to November without an injunctionJudge Asel Mamytbekova asked both sides whether a cryptocurrency is a "financial service" at all, and gave them five weeks to answer.Tashkent calls water scarcity a brake on the region as Naryn talks near
talasherald.comTashkent calls water scarcity a brake on the region as Naryn talks nearUzbekistan's president urged digital monitoring and canal repairs at a summit in Turkmenistan; Irad's negotiators say the 2027 Naryn schedule will need the same data.Rabat-i-Safed coins to be tested in Nurzhan as museum asks for custody
talasherald.comRabat-i-Safed coins to be tested in Nurzhan as museum asks for custodyThe heritage permit for the dig says finds go to the national museum; the university wants to keep the Kara-Khanid coins until its study is published.The Herald's View: Thirty new schools deserve one published budget
talasherald.comThirty new schools deserve one published budgetThe building programme is welcome. Its total cost and its timetable should be public.Attelkom blocks Tulparcoin sites; operator cites Department of Public Information list
talasherald.comAttelkom blocks Tulparcoin sites; operator cites Department of Public Information listThe coin's website and its Seychelles exchange became unreachable on Thursday; the department says it acted on a request from "financial supervisors".Supreme Court puts its case register online; inability petition awaits a date
talasherald.comSupreme Court puts its case register online; inability petition awaits a dateThe new public docket lists 214 pending matters, among them the June petition on the Elective Governor Acts, marked as awaiting listing.All channels on Tulpar · See The Talas Herald in the Tulpar app